
Alabama football and the SEC have communicated regarding the Ryan Williams touchdown that was nullified against Oklahoma due to a penalty.
“There has been some communication,” said Alabama head coach Kalen DeBoer on Monday. “But there’s nothing more to be done now. The game is over, and you have to be at peace with the communication you’ve received. That’s how it is with the SEC. We’re just moving forward and focusing on the Iron Bowl.”
Williams made a leaping catch on a fourth-down pass with 14:07 remaining last Saturday in Norman, Oklahoma, which would have brought Alabama within two scores. However, the officials ruled it an illegal touch on the play by Williams.
“They said it was illegal touching, meaning someone must have been covered up,” DeBoer explained postgame. “It was about being ineligible.”
The term “covered up” refers to the alignment before the snap and the positioning of players on the line of scrimmage. A receiver cannot be on the line if there is another receiver closer to the sideline, also on the line, which would make them ineligible. Williams, however, was the farthest receiver on the line, so he should have remained eligible.
ABC/ESPN rules analyst Bill LeMonnier disagreed with the officials’ call. “I don’t see the cover-up there,” he stated during the broadcast. “There are two receivers in the backfield and one on the line of scrimmage.”
Despite the disagreement, the play resulted in a loss of downs, and since it occurred on fourth down, Oklahoma took over possession.
While the touchdown might not have altered the outcome of the game, it would have been significant. The non-counted touchdown marked the first time since 2011 that Alabama went without scoring a touchdown in a game.
Alabama (8-3, 4-3 SEC) will next face Auburn on Saturday at 2:30 p.m. ET in the Iron Bowl at Bryant-Denny Stadium.
Leave a Reply